Winery

Situated in the world famous Middle Rhine Valley, ours is truly a family business. For over 300 years, we have been passionately devoted to producing wines of unmistakeably strong character in this unique wine-growing region.

1625

Johann Martin Bastian, born in Stromberg in 1625, is listed as godfather, tanner and Schultheiß (mayor) in the church records of Oberdiebach, the next village upriver from Bacharach. His son, the first Friedrich Bastian, was confirmed in 1688, which puts his year of birth around 1675.

1697

Friedrich Bastian (the second) is born in Bacharach. His second marriage in 1753 is to Anna Maria Schippert, from whom the Bastian family inherits the house known as “Zum Grünen Baum” as well as its estate, which includes farmland and vineyards.

1815

Otto Friedrich Bastian (the third Friedrich) marries Henriette Lang, the daughter of a Bacharach merchant. The Bastian family acquires the island of Heyles’en Werth as part of the dowry. Now, as well as farming, the family also operates a ship mill, which is moored amid the rocks at the southern end of the island.

1850

From the middle of the 19th century onwards, winegrowing in the Rhine region begins to experience a definite upturn. Tourism blossoms – and travellers are quick to pass word of the excellence of the quality wines coming out of the four valleys around Bacharach. Until the end of the 19th century, Bastian wines are auctioned by the barrel to the highest bidder.

1880

Large portions of the vineyard are sold following a split inheritance involving three siblings. Holdings are reduced from a considerable 90 morgen (approximately 22 hectares) to 30 morgen. The change also sees the historical wine-growing areas on the island turned over to animal husbandry and agriculture.

1903

Friedrich Bastian (the fifth) hands over farming operations to his sons Fritz and Karl. He himself goes with his wife Elise to live on his island retirement estate, where as early as 1886 a small but luxurious house had been built along with a farm building.

1918

Older brother Fritz returns from the war alone after Karl is killed in 1916. Fritz now manages the farm along with his wife Else, whom he married in her native East Prussia in 1917. His strictness is legendary – as is his ability to pin opponents to the spot with long monologues, which are admired and feared in equal measure.

1930

Fritz (the seventh) and his older sister Ruth grow up on the farm. They quickly become familar with the daily tasks involved in a diverse business that spans winemaking, agriculture and animal husbandry. Not until 1960 does the 80-year-old Fritz senior hand over the farm to his children.

1962

A dispute that has been ongoing for a decade comes to a head. Fritz Bastian is forced to purchase at auction the part of the island due to the widower of his deceased aunt. But that is not all: the state waterway administration is also making claims to large portions of the island. Fritz is able to win his case and, after a herculean effort, is left as the sole owner of the island. This leaves him free to pursue his vision of reestablishing winegrowing in the middle of the Rhine: Inselwein. But it is with a heavy heart that he winds down the farming operations.

1970

The brother and sister begin operating “Zum Grünen Baum” as a tavern, initially on a monthly basis. Heartened by the great popularity of the cosy estate tavern on Bacharach’s market square, Fritz, his wife Doris and his sister Ruth take the decision to open all year round.

1974

Cinema arrives on the island as a horde of unshaven, serious, chain-smoking young men draw up in Bacharach in a dilapidated removal van. The island becomes one of the settings for an organic plot that evolves from one day to the next, mostly at night. The result is a cult film for lone wolves. “Im Lauf der Zeit” was the first German road movie and earned Wim Wenders recognition both at Cannes and internationally. Hanns Zischler and Rüdiger Vogler have counted among the premier German film actors ever since.

1975

Construction of the island ferry “Bacchi Ara“ begins in the courtyard of “Zum Grünen Baum”. In the early years of the modern Inselwein vintage, the harvested grapes still had to be brought over to the banks of Bacharach by rowing boat. The self-built ferry now eases the workload considerably.

1987

In 1983 a resolute band of winemakers from Bacharach and Steeg plucks up the courage to follow many more famous wineries to London, where they attend an export fair. As expected, they attract little attention. After that there follows many a night of heated discussion where heads are cooled again with soothing Riesling, and in 1987 the winemakers decide to found the VDP Mittelrhein. Fritz Bastian is chairman for ten years. The Middle Rhine makes its entry onto the world stage as a wine region.

1989

Having completed his training as a winemaker, the eighth Friedrich joins the family business. Just one year later – and to the horror of his parents – he travels to Munich to study opera. Women and song are much more attractive options than winemaking.

1993

The Japanese imperial couple are served Bacharach Riesling to accompany their Rhine menu, including wine from Posten, Hahn, Wolfshöhle and from Heyles’ en Werth island, which the state visitors cruise past.

2005

Fritz Bastian dies on 27 May 2005 following a lengthy illness.

2009

Music begins to take the more prominent role it deserves as an accompaniment to wine. After a festive late-summer picnic at the rocky southern tip of the island, two cooks and a singing winemaker hit upon the idea of putting together all the fine ingredients they can muster to create a richly enjoyable experience. From three men in a boat, the event “Reif für die Insel” is born. Yet the project would never have been so successful without the unflinching support of wives, children and relatives.

2010

Everything has its time. Bastian wines get a new face. And Friedrich Bastian brings his combination of wine and singing to television. This generates a lot of publicity for the winery – and considerable popularity for its wines. And the bold new design of the labels also makes its mark, earning the IF packaging design award.

2012

The Vinothèque opens. This uncluttered and peaceful space presents the wines in a whole new light – a logical addition to the homely and extremely cosy atmosphere of Zum Grünen Baum, which many guests appreciate because it has an authenticity that’s hard to find elsewhere.

2015

On March 15, 2015 Doris Bastian dies at the age of 76 years.

 

2015

Our website is growing. The Bastian wines can be ordered in the online shop from now on.

 

Vineyards

For generations, the vines in Bacharach and Steeg have been home to our wines. Our VDP Große Lage and Erste Lage vineyards stretch from POSTEN by way of WOLFSHÖHLE to ST. JOST in Steeg. With all the sunlight their orientation to the south and southwest guarantees them, they provide the vines rooted deep in their Devonian slate with the ideal topography and microclimate in which to mature our single-site wines.

Walk among the vines! For those wanting to conquer the steep slopes of our vineyards for themselves, there is our “Orion trail”, which will take you on an ascent up to the first terrace high above Bacharach old town and the bank of the Rhine’s prehistoric glacial valley. Here Scheurebe and Pinot noir flourish in cultivated deep and clayey soil.

The Rhine sits majestically in the bed it has carved deep into the rock and washes around our unique wine-growing island of Heyles’en Werth. The Heine lookout point offers a stunning view of this vineyard in the middle of the river, where the fertile, sandy alluvial soil brings forth a thoroughly refreshing Insel-Riesling.

  • Posten
  • Wolfshöhle
  • St. Jost
  • Heyles'en Werth
  • Zum grünen Baum winery
  • Vinothèque
  • Orion trail
  • Posten
  • Wolfshöhle
  • St. Jost
  • Heyles'en Werth
  • Zum grünen Baum winery
  • Vinothèque
  • Orion trail

Estate tavern

Zum Grünen Baum is the beating heart of the Bastian winery. Dating back to 1421, it looks straight out onto Bacharach’s market square and, together with the neighbouring “Altes Haus” and the most recent part of the building on Rosenstraße dating from 1825, forms the picturesque inner courtyard.

Since time immemorial, our wine tavern has been a social hub, with its rustic rooms and airy, sunny benches offering the perfect atmosphere to enjoy an authentic Middle Rhine wine-tavern tradition. The whole range of Bastian wines is available for you to taste – and of course to buy as well! Enjoy our wines alongside home-made snacks in an unforgettable atmosphere. We look forward to your visit!

Opening times:

Daily from 12 p.m. – 10 p.m.
Kitchen closes at 9 p.m.

 

Impressions

Our winery is located in the UNESCO-recognized Upper Middle Rhine Valley. To the North there is the Lorelei, to the South-East the Celtic settlement of Bingen. Come and see the beauty of this small but diverse wine growing region for yourself, and experience the picturesque charm of the high-medieval Rhine town of Bacharach.

Contact

Weingut Friedrich Bastian
Erbhof “Zum grünen Baum”
Oberstr. 63 · 55422 Bacharach, Germany
T +49 6743 1208

Vinothèque (administration)
Koblenzer Str. 1 · 55422 Bacharach, Germany
T +49 6743 93785-30
F +49 6743 93785-33

info@weingut-bastian-bacharach.de 

Getting here:

Coming from Rhine/Main: Exit the A60 at Bingen to join the B9 towards St. Goar. Follow the B9 for around 15 km until you reach Bacharach. Enter through one of the city gates and carry on through to the market place by St Peter’s church.

Coming from Rhine/Neckar: Exit the A61 at the Nahetal junction in the direction of Bingen. Then follow the B9 towards St. Goar until you reach Bacharach. Enter through one of the city gates and carry on through to the market place by St Peter’s church.

Coming from Cologne/Bonn/Koblenz: Exit the A61 at Rheinböllen then follow the signs for Bacharach. After around 15 km you will pass through Steeg. Continue along the main road through the Steeg gate and carry on through to the centre of Bacharach and St. Peter’s church.

Subject: Cuvée Surprise reservation

*Mandatory field

Subject: Cuvée Surprise enquiry

*Mandatory field

Weingut

Unser Weingut im weltbekannten Mittelrheintal ist ein echtes Familienunternehmen: Seit über 300 Jahren gilt unsere Leidenschaft der Erzeugung charakterstarker Weine in einem einzigartigen Anbaugebiet.

1625

Johann Martin Bastian, geboren 1625 in Stromberg, wird als Gevatter, Rothgerber und Schultheiß im Kirchenbuch von Oberdiebach, dem stromaufwärts gelegenen Nachbarort von Bacharach, genannt. Sein Sohn ist der 1688 konfirmierte und somit um 1675 geborene erste Friedrich Bastian.

1697

Friedrich Bastian (der Zweite) wird in Bacharach geboren. Er heiratet in zweiter Ehe 1753 Anna Maria Schippert. Durch ihre Erbschaft kommen die Bastians in den Besitz des Hauses „Zum Grünen Baum“ und der dazugehörigen Landwirtschaft mit Feldern und Weinbergen.

1815

Otto Friedrich Bastian (der dritte Friedrich) heiratet die Bacharacher Kaufmannstochter Henriette Lang. Diese bringt die Insel „Heyles’en Werth“ als Mitgift in den Familienbesitz ein. Neben dem Landbau betreibt man jetzt auch noch eine Schiffsmühle, die zwischen den Felsen der südlichen Inselspitze verankert ist.

1850

Ab Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts erfährt der Weinbau am Rhein einen deutlichen Aufschwung. Der Tourismus blüht – und die Reisenden verbreiten rasch den exzellenten Ruf der hochwertigen Weine aus dem „Vierthälergebiet“ um Bacharach. Bis Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts werden die Bastian’schen Weine im Fass meistbietend versteigert.

1880

Infolge einer Erbteilung unter den drei Geschwistern werden erhebliche Teile des Weinbergbesitzes veräußert. Von beachtlichen 90 Morgen Land (ca. 22 ha) bleiben 30 Morgen übrig. Unter anderem werden die historischen Rebflächen auf der Insel zugunsten der Vieh- und Ackerwirtschaft aufgegeben.

1903

Friedrich Bastian (der fünfte) übergibt die Landwirtschaft an seine Söhne Fritz und Karl. Mit seiner Frau Elise bezieht er sein Altenteil auf der Insel. Schon 1886 wurden dort ein kleines, aber prächtiges Wohnhaus und ein Ökonomiegebäude errichtet.

1918

Fritz, der ältere Bruder, kehrt aus dem Krieg zurück. Karl ist 1916 gefallen. Mit seiner Frau Else, die er 1917 in ihrer ostpreußischen Heimat geheiratet hat, bewirtschaftet Fritz nun den Hof. Seine Strenge ist legendär – und die Fähigkeit, sein Gegenüber mit langen Monologen festzunageln, gleichermaßen bewundert wie gefürchtet.

1930

Fritz (der siebte) und seine ältere Schwester Ruth wachsen auf dem Hof auf. Sie werden schnell vertraut mit der täglichen Arbeit des umfangreichen Gemischtbetriebes mit Weinbau, Feldern und Vieh. Erst 1960 ist der Senior bereit, mit 80 Jahren den Hof an die Kinder zu übergeben.

1962

Ein Jahrzehnte währender Streit um die Insel eskaliert. Fritz Bastian muß den Teil der Insel ersteigern, der dem Witwer seiner verstorbenen Tante zusteht. Doch nicht genug damit: Die staatliche Wasserstraßenverwaltung erhebt ebenfalls Anspruch auf große Teile der Insel. Aber Fritz kann sich erfolgreich wehren. So wird die Insel in einem Kraftakt ganz zu seiner Insel. Jetzt kann er seine Vision vom wiederauferstehenden Weinbau mitten im Rhein Wirklichkeit werden lassen: Inselwein. Die Feld- und Viehwirtschaft gibt er schweren Herzens auf.

1970

Den „Grünen Baum“ betreiben die Geschwister zunächst monateweise als Straußwirtschaft. Ermutigt vom großen Zuspruch, den der gemütliche Gutsausschank am Bacharacher Marktplatz erfährt, entschließen sich Fritz, seine Frau Doris und die Schwester Ruth, ganzjährig zu öffnen.

1974

Großes Kino auf der Insel: Mit einem ausrangierten Möbelwagen taucht eine Horde unrasierter, ernster und unentwegt rauchender junger Männer in Bacharach auf. Die Insel wird zu einem der Spielorte einer sich intuitiv entwickelnden Handlung. Das Buch dazu entsteht von einem Drehtag auf den nächsten, meistens nachts. Auf diese Weise entsteht ein Kultfilm für „einsame Wölfe“. Mit dem ersten deutschen Roadmovie „Im Lauf der Zeit“ wird Wim Wenders in Cannes ausgezeichnet und international berühmt. Hanns Zischler und Rüdiger Vogler gehören seitdem zur ersten Garde der deutschen Filmschauspieler.

1975

Die Inselfähre „Bacchi Ara“ wird im Hof vom „Grünen Baum“ auf Kiel gelegt. Die ersten Jahrgänge vom neuzeitlichen Inselwein mussten noch mit dem Ruderboot ans Bacharacher Ufer gebracht werden. Jetzt erleichtert das selbst konstruierte Gefährt die Arbeit erheblich.

1987

Ein unverdrossenes Häuflein Bacharacher und Steeger Winzer nimmt allen Mut zusammen und reist 1983 als Anhängsel etlicher berühmterer Weingüter nach London zu einer Exportmesse, erwartungsgemäß unbeachtet. Nach vielen Nächten, in denen sich die Winzer die Köpfe heißgeredet und mit Riesling ausreichend gekühlt haben, gründen sie 1987 den VDP Mittelrhein. Zehn Jahre führt Fritz Bastian den Vorsitz. Der Mittelrhein betritt die große Weinbühne.

1989

Nach der Winzerlehre steigt der achte Friedrich in den Betrieb ein. Nur ein Jahr später beginnt er zum Schrecken der Eltern ein Opernstudium in München. Weib und Gesang sind wesentlich attraktivere Aussichten als Wein.

1993

Dem japanischen Kaiserpaar wird zum Menü auf dem Rhein Bacharacher Riesling serviert: vom Posten, vom Hahn, aus der Wolfshöhle und von der Insel, an der die Staatsgäste gemächlich vorbeifahren.

2005

Nach längerer Krankheit stirbt Fritz Bastian am 27. Mai 2005.

2009

Die Musik zum Wein spielt eine immer größere Rolle im Weingut. Nach einem fröhlichen Spätsommerpicknick auf der felsigen Südspitze der Insel haben zwei Köche und ein singender Winzer eine Idee: Sie verwandeln alle guten Zutaten, die sie aufbringen können, in ein genussreiches Erlebnis. Drei Mann in einem Boot sind: „Reif für die Insel.“ Doch ohne die tatkräftige Unterstützung der Frauen, Kinder und Geschwister wäre dieses Projekt niemals so erfolgreich geworden.

2010

Alles hat seine Zeit. Die Bastian Weine bekommen ein neues Gesicht. Und Friedrich Bastian kommt mit Wein und Gesang ins Fernsehen: Dem Weingut verschafft das große Aufmerksamkeit – und den Weinen einen erheblichen Zuspruch. Nebenbei gibt es noch den IF packaging design award für die mutige Neugestaltung der Etiketten.

2012

Die Vinothek wird eröffnet. Ein klarer, ruhiger Raum sorgt für die Präsentation der Weine in neuem Licht – als konsequente Ergänzung zur heimeligen, urgemütlichen Atmosphäre des Grünen Baums, die viele Gäste schätzen und anderswo kaum noch so unverstellt finden können.

2015

Am 15. März 2015 stirbt Doris Bastian im  Alter von 76 Jahren.

2015

Unser Internetauftritt bekommt Zuwachs. Die Bastian Weine können von nun an im Onlineshop bestellt werden.

Weinlagen

Herkunft und Heimat unserer Weine sind die Rebflächen in Bacharach und Steeg. Vom POSTEN über die WOLFSHÖHLE bis zum ST. JOST in Steeg erstrecken sich unsere Großen und Ersten Lagen VDP. Nach Süden und Südwesten geneigt und dadurch besonders sonnenexponiert, bieten sie den tief im devonischen Schiefergestein wurzelnden Reben ideale topografische und mikroklimatische Voraussetzungen für das Heranreifen unserer Lagenweine.

Wandern, wo der Wein wächst! Wer sich die Steillage selbst erobern möchte, folgt unserem „Orion-Steig“ und gelangt so auf die erste Höhenterrasse über der Bacharacher Altstadt, dem prähistorischen Ufersaum des Urstromtales. Hier gedeihen Scheurebe und Spätburgunder in tiefgründigen, lehmigen Kulturböden.

Majestätisch liegt der Rhein in seinem tief in den Fels geschnittenen Bett und umspült unsere einzigartige Weininsel Heyles’en Werth. Vom Heine-Blick bietet sich eine beeindruckende Aussicht auf den Weingarten mitten im Strom. Der fruchtbare, sandige Auenboden schenkt uns dort einen herzhaft erfrischenden Insel-Riesling.

  • Posten
  • Wolfshöhle
  • St. Jost
  • Heyles'en Werth
  • Weingut zum grünen Baum
  • Vinothek
  • Orion-Steig
  • Posten
  • Wolfshöhle
  • St. Jost
  • Heyles'en Werth
  • Weingut zum grünen Baum
  • Vinothek
  • Orion-Steig

Gutsausschank

Hier schlägt das Herz des Weingutes Bastian: Der Gutshof „Zum Grünen Baum“ aus dem Jahre 1421 befindet sich direkt am Bacharacher Marktplatz. Er umschließt zusammen mit dem benachbarten „Alten Haus“ und dem jüngsten Gebäudeteil an der Rosenstraße von 1825 den malerischen Innenhof.

Der gesellige Mittelpunkt ist seit jeher unsere Weinstube: In den urigen Räumen und auf den luftigen Sonnenplätzen genießt man echte mittelrheinische Weinstubentradition. Die Bastian’schen Weine präsentieren sich hier in ihrer ganzen Vielfalt und können selbstverständlich nicht nur verkostet, sondern auch gekauft werden. Genießen Sie unsere Weine zusammen mit hausgemachten Vespergerichten in einer unvergleichlichen Atmosphäre. Wir freuen uns auf Sie!

Öffnungszeiten:

Die Weinstube hält Winterschlaf.

 

 

 

 

Impressionen

Unser Weingut liegt im Weltkulturerbe Oberes Mittelrheintal – im Norden grüßt die Loreley, im Südosten das von den Kelten gegründete Bingen. Entdecken Sie die Schönheiten dieses kleinen, aber vielfältigen Anbaugebietes. Und den pittoresken Charme des hochmittelalterlichen Rheinstädtchens Bacharach.

Kontakt

Weingut Friedrich Bastian
Erbhof „Zum grünen Baum“
Oberstr. 63 · D-55422 Bacharach
T +49 6743 1208

Vinothek (Verwaltung)
Koblenzer Str. 1 · D-55422 Bacharach
T +49 6743 93785-30
F +49 6743 93785-33

info@weingut-bastian-bacharach.de 

Anfahrt:

Aus Richtung Rhein-Main: Von der A60 bei Bingen in Richtung St. Goar auf die B9 wechseln. Der B9 folgen (ca. 15 km) bis Bacharach. Durch eines der Stadttore hindurch zum Marktplatz an der Peterskirche.

Aus Richtung Rhein-Neckar: Von der A61 am Nahetal-Dreieck in Richtung Bingen abfahren. Dann auf die B9 Richtung St. Goar. Der B9 folgen bis Bacharach. Durch eines der Stadttore hindurch fahren bis zum Marktplatz an der Peterskirche

Aus Richtung Köln-Bonn-Koblenz: Von der A61 in Rheinböllen abfahren. Der Beschilderung „Bacharach“ folgen. Nach ca. 15 km den Ortsteil Steeg durchfahren. Der Hauptstraße durch das Steeger Tor hindurch folgen bis zur Ortsmitte Bacharach mit der Peterskirche.

 

Betreff: CUVÉE SURPRISE-Reservierung

*Pflichfelder

Betreff: CUVÉE SURPRISE-Anfrage

*Pflichfelder